I miss you, Daddy

Dear Dad,

Word cannot express the amount of pain I still feel, almost two years since you left me. There exists no remedy on earth that can fix a broken heart, but God has seen fit to take you from me and I have faith that He is wise and knows that it is what should be.

I have lived these last two years remembering you daily. There is not a day that goes by where I don’t have a moment in which I think of what you would have experienced in my company, or even how much you would have liked what I was experiencing. It is painful. We had so much life together, traveled to different places together, and took in the world through a life lived collectively, that I find that no matter where I go, I think of you. You were my hero, in many ways, because you were a constant in my life. Even when you weren’t around, I knew you were always supporting me. Your love was unconditional. That kind of love is rare. I hurt daily and think of you constantly.

Today, almost two years after having lost you, I think of just how much I have loved you. My first love. You and my mother have been the loves of my life. I would not be standing here if not for you and mom. I miss you. I pray that we are re-united in Heaven. I pray one day we are able, once again, to walk hand-in-hand and talk about the beauty of life.

I love you, Daddy. I miss you, Daddy. I hurt daily at not being able to look at your beautiful and loving eyes. I miss your unconditional love. Whenever you saw me, no matter what, your face would light up. Who can find that kind of love?

I will always love you.

 

Your daughter,

 

Gaby

About Gabriela Pruneda

In all honesty, I am still discovering much about myself; it scares me to know what I haven't yet learned. I am an addict of the written word, and I would love nothing more than to continue in my pursuit of knowledge and wisdom. I pray that we all learn to love one another enough to respect differences, which God Himself created. We are all creatures of God and we all deserve to be treated with respect. To my parents I owe a debt of gratitude I would need a lifetime beyond mine to repay. To my husband I owe my sanity. To my siblings (and cousins) I owe gratitude for their constant companionship. But above all, to my Creator I owe my life, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

